What is God Leading You to Do?

The wisdom of the Spirit grows in the heart of God’s children, like a seed putting forth a shoot, then a leaf, and then a full ear (Mark 4:28).
We see this in the life of Jesus:
And the child grew, and waxed strong in spirit, filled with wisdom: and the grace of God was upon him [Luke 2:40].
And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man [Luke 2:52].
It is a father’s responsibility to raise his children to maturity–to use their experiences as a context for teaching truth–and to mold their lives by the influence of His own example in the faith.
This is what God does for us, as the following verses proclaim:
For this is the word of promise, At this time will I come, and Sara shall have a son. And not only this; but when Rebecca also had conceived by one, even by our father Isaac; (For [the children] being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth;) It was said unto her, The elder shall serve the younger.
–Romans 9:9-11
The will of God is neither subservient to time nor bound by the free will of man.
As the Alpha and Omega, He establishes our beginnings and authors our endings (Jeremiah 1:5; Acts 17:26).
Therefore, it is no great thing for Him to determine the course of our lives–not by impinging upon our free will–but by so orchestrating events that our choices complement His vision.
This is why He can “turn all things to good to those who love Him and are called to His purpose,” (Romans 8:28).  
We are prophetic expressions of the word and will of God:
Whereof I am made a minister, according to the dispensation of God which is given to me for you, to fulfill the word of God; Even the mystery which hath been hid from ages and from generations, but now is made manifest to his saints. To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory: Whom we preach, warning every man, and teaching every man in all wisdom; that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus:  whereunto I also labor, striving according to his working, which worketh in me mightily.
–Colossians 1:25-29
This does not mean that we are doing things perfectly: but rather, that God is working perfectly through us.
Our only responsibility is to come into agreement with the Spirit’s leading.
What is the Holy Spirit leading you to do?

2 thoughts on “What is God Leading You to Do?

  1. Mark, I’m not sure whether to answer the question you posed or simply sit back and enjoy the truth you spoke here.
    When I think of the Spirit’s leading I primarily think of two aspects of that. First, the overall guidance of the Spirit through things like Bible reading and prayer- through a regular abiding relationship with Christ. All other leading, such as a specific leading stems from our lives being watered in His general leading. Make sense?

    I think it fair to say that most believer’s equate the Spirit’s leading with some form of discovering His will for our lives. For years I always desired and attempted to know this, and it has been the frustration of many saints in having difficulty in sorting this out. In my own life, I have often thought I knew His specific lead only to discover that I was mistaken and somewhat misguided in my judgments. Sometimes the pressure of wanting to know (even if a sincere desire) can lead us to make premature decisions that only appear to be from Him. I know this better than most.

    I think I understand today what Mark said so well above and is key- not to discovering some specific thing or direction, but to having peace in the midst of seeking this out:

    “Therefore, it is no great thing for Him to determine the course of our lives- not by impinging upon our free will but by so orchestrating events that our choices compliment His vision”

    I really like this. In the same way that my Father has used past mistakes in my life to ultimately teach me about Himself and His desires, so He can and does through various events and might I add people, circumstances etc to guide us where He will.

    I really believe that some of God’s children become so stressed over what to do or where to go that they hinder their own forward progress in Christ. There is a reason God asks us to seek Him for daily bread- the more we know, the more likely will will act in haste upon what we know and in doing so err, yet the less we know the more reliant upon Him we will depend in our need to know.

    What is God leading me to do? To live faithful in Christ in the very place I find myself in this moment. He loves me, and has little desire to burden me with what I do not need to know.

    • Dude, Friend, Michael: you make several interesting observations. I see you saying two things:

      The fact that He leads us DAILY, revealing only the next step on our path [with some small exceptions where He grants us foreknowledge] is a protection to us and an aid for us in maintaining our dependence upon Christ for every thing.

      It is good not to know what we don’t need to know, as this is an important basis [and evidence] of our fellowship with Christ: we TRUST Him.

      I will comment on your 3rd observation:

      Jesus said, “My sheep hear my voice,” (John 10). This is true from the moment of our conversion [regeneration] in Christ. Yet, His will is for us to grow in understanding of His character, which is His wisdom, as revealed to us through His word. Therefore, the Holy Spirit consistently leads us to meditate upon the scriptures–for by these truths we are sanctified–and matured (Deuteronomy 6:6-9; John 17:17). Moreover, our lives become prophetic expressions of these truths: “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me,” (Galatians 2:20).

      Peace, bro.

Leave a Reply

