The Point is not Perfection

My brother [Al Nelson from lastdaysoftheage.wordpress.com] wrote:

A common argument or excuse people have told me for not abandoning the institutionalized style of worship with one pastor and everyone sitting in pews is “No assembly is perfect.” The point is not perfection in the assembly, but obedience in Christ. He set a pattern in the assembly opposed to the way the world works, by telling us:

But Jesus called them to Himself and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and those who are great exercise authority over them. Yet it shall not be so among you; but whoever desires to become great among you, let him be your servant. And whoever desires to be first among you, let him be your slave— just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.

–Matthew 20:25-28

My Comment in Response

Brother Al!  You don’t know how many times I have run into this same thing.  Now, I have a one-sentence explanation! 

[Dancing and praising God]

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Point is not Perfection

  1. I’m laughing hysterically! And this is dead serious.

    If you want a primer on obedience, see my article The forgotten art of Obedience on my site. Just read the last few paragraphs (below the charts, starting with the word “Right about Now”)This shows just how unwilling today’s religious leaders are in both serving others and laying down their lives.

    I promise to refrain from exalting my own articles again, lol. But this is highly convicting and a seriously accurate portrayal of a refusal to die to self and the abuse of our Lord Jesus Christ.

  2. Actually, I am glad you brought this up: I had read the 1st part of your article, but never got to the latter part, which I find fascinating … I’ll speak more to you later about this on the phone. Peace!

Leave a Reply

