The Man and the Machine

I had a dream last night:

I was at a fellow believer’s house.  I was showing him some teachings that I had been going over with one of his sons [who had previously strayed from Christ].  However, instead of rejoicing with me, he was distracted because he needed to be somewhere and left.  I got into my truck to leave.  Suddenly, I noticed the passenger door was ajar, and a woman was standing there.  She said her child had been missing for some time, but the authorities had suddenly found him.  She needed a ride to get to him.  She was very insistent, but didn’t seem concerned at all about the child.  Then, she postured herself seductively in front of me.  I said, “You’ve done this before, haven’t you?” [rhetorical]  The statement showed her that I knew that she wasn’t being ‘personal’ with me; this was simply her normal method of operation; also, it showed her that I saw through her deception and that she had no power over me.  The next thing I know, I am backing up the truck to leave, and the woman is in the passenger seat.  Suddenly, an armored transport appears with a large wedge on the front [for ramming things].  It is trying to ram and capture me, but it can’t because my truck is suddenly a Camaro.  I back up at high speed, swing the front end around, and make a large circle around the military vehicle at high speed.  The vehicle cannot cut me off because it is too slow.  I escape.

Here’s what I think it means:

The woman represents idolatry within the traditional churches [spiritual adultery].  Like queen Jezebel, she is willing to temporarily serve people’s needs in order to entrap them and gain power over them.   The child that she claimed had been missing is Jesus:  this is not a lie.  However, she is not truly seeking Him; she has no interest in God.  She simply feigns loving Him in order to gain access to people’s hearts.  Her purpose is to enslave men, and she will use any emotional foothold to achieve this.  These distractions blind the people [saved and unsaved alike], so that the anti-christ can rise to power without opposition, and the people will not awake until it is too late.  [That is what the fact that she rides with me is intended to convey; I would have been gone before the armored transport arrived, if I had not been catering to her needs and wishes.  The Lord is allowing me to see what her followers will experience.]

A spirit of lawlessness has overcome the churches.  They are no longer salt and light.  Because they have not raised up a standard of righteousness, the hearts of the people in the land have become corrupt.  The churches are no longer servants, but oppressors:  they do not seek after justice.

The armored transport represents civil government.  Because of the condition of the churches, the spirit of lawlessness is running rampant through local, state, and federal government.  This will increase until the governments are also oppressors of the people.  This oppression will in part be economic [as all real prosperity stems from spiritual and natural freedom]. This is why my friend was in a hurry.  People will be consumed with busyness from having to work so much to survive.

Finally, we have a seed of hope planted in the midst of adversity:  the truck represents the ministry of the Holy Spirit in us, which can safely carry us anywhere we need to go.  Notice, it transforms according to our need.  Moreover, it is quicker [more powerful] than the ministries of this world.

Notice, the woman represents man [the church of man and man’s wisdom], and the machine [armored transport] represents governmental oppression, the fruit of man:  these are the two forces that Satan will use to build his false kingdom.

The Lord reminded me of this passage:

Her priests have violated my law, and have profaned mine holy things: they have put no difference between the holy and profane, neither have they shewed difference between the unclean and the clean, and have hid their eyes from my sabbaths, and I am profaned among them.  Her princes in the midst thereof are like wolves ravening the prey, to shed blood, and to destroy souls, to get dishonest gain.  And her prophets have daubed them with untempered morter, seeing vanity, and divining lies unto them, saying, Thus saith the Lord GOD, when the LORD hath not spoken. The people of the land have used oppression, and exercised robbery, and have vexed the poor and needy: yea, they have oppressed the stranger wrongfully. And I sought for a man among them, that should make up the hedge, and stand in the gap before me for the land, that I should not destroy it: but I found none.

–Ezekiel 22:26-31

7 thoughts on “The Man and the Machine

  1. Thanks for sharing Mark. That makes sense to me.
    Reminds me of a dream I had years ago before Kim & I had kids. We had gone to a institutional church service. During Bible study I went to the men’s group and she to the women’s group. In each of our cases they sent women to try to seduce me and men to try to seduce my wife. When we tried to escape they tried to restrain us but could not.
    I had already been out of and I think still learning about what the institution is before the Lord.

  2. This is a common warning from the Lord to His people brothers! One of the few dreams I have had from the Lord was very similar – beware of the strange woman, beware of the harlot.

    Pro 2:16 So you will be delivered from the forbidden woman, from the adulteress with her smooth words, who forsakes the companion of her youth and forgets the covenant of her God;

    Pro 5:3 For the lips of a forbidden woman drip honey, and her speech is smoother than oil,

    Pro 5:20 Why should you be intoxicated, my son, with a forbidden woman and embrace the bosom of an adulteress?

    Pro 6:23 For the commandment is a lamp and the teaching a light, and the reproofs of discipline are the way of life, to preserve you from the evil woman, from the smooth tongue of the adulteress. Do not desire her beauty in your heart, and do not let her capture you with her eyelashes; for the price of a prostitute is only a loaf of bread, but a married woman hunts down a precious life.

    Pro 7:4 Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call insight your intimate friend, to keep you from the forbidden woman, from the adulteress with her smooth words.

    Pro 9:13 The woman Folly is loud; she is seductive and knows nothing. She sits at the door of her house; she takes a seat on the highest places of the town,

    Pro 23:26 My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes observe my ways. For a prostitute is a deep pit; an adulteress is a narrow well. She lies in wait like a robber and increases the traitors among mankind.

    Pro 29:3 He who loves wisdom makes his father glad, but a companion of prostitutes squanders his wealth.

    • The fact that it is common is an encouraging thing: it testifies that God speaks to His people.

      The fact that it is common is a comforting thing: it testifies that we all have the same Witness.

      The fact that it is common is an edifying thing: it testifies that God is preparing us to stand in the day of battle.

  3. Proverbs 5:8 Keep your way far from her, and do not go near the door of her house, lest you give your honor to others and your years to the merciless, lest strangers take their fill of your strength, and your labors go to the house of a foreigner, and at the end of your life you groan, when your flesh and body are consumed, and you say, “How I hated discipline, and my heart despised reproof! I did not listen to the voice of my teachers or incline my ear to my instructors. I am at the brink of utter ruin in the assembled congregation.”

  4. I have had the same experience but with men. Please tell me how a godly woman can have friendship and fellowship when so many men pretend to be Christians? In reality they are looking for ungodly hypocritical women to sin with. This is not a gender problem, it is a soul problem that transcends gender. It is not the strange woman or the lusty man that brings one into sin, it is a lack of relationship with God. These temptations come upon and overtake men (and women) because of the lust in their own hearts.

    It is so easy to blame the other person, the “strange woman” and the “whore-monger.” Jesus dealt with these same types of people with love, even to the point of allowing an x-prostitute to rub him with oil and her own hair! Those warnings in the old testament are good for guidance, but remember, they were written to non born-again people who had little power over temptation and did not have the full opportunity to renew their minds. If we take seriously the words of Jesus, it is possible to become wise as serpents and innocent as doves. It is possible to become childlike in our attitudes so we don’t even think the way we used to think.

    Single attractive women in the church have a difficult time. We are ostracized by fearful men with hidden lusts because looking upon us causes them so much temptation. It is easier for them to ignore and dismiss us rather than confront the wayward thoughts of their heart and treat us lovingly as their own sisters. We are shunned by insecure women (especially married women) because of jealousy, rather than comforted and embraced as often alone people who need a family. We are hunted by men who are wolves in sheep’s clothing as their next conquest rather than being protected from the world. We are manipulated by “pastors” and elders into vulnerable situations so they can have the advantage over us.

    I have become so saddened by the dysfunctional church (I am speaking of the ecclesia here) that I have decided the safe way to find true Christian family is to blog. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. It is not difficult to decipher where individuals are if they talk long enough.

    • “For whosoever shall do the will of God, the same is my brother, and my sister, and mother,” (Mark 3:35).

      I’ve read your posts at Ian’s blog, sister: it is easy to see that you have a heart for the Lord; and the Holy Ghost has taught you the word of God.

      You remind me of this verse: “It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes,” (Psalms 119:71).

      You also remind me that seasons change–maybe, not now [or for a long time even]–but they do change:

      “And it came to pass at the end of forty days, that Noah opened the window of the ark which he had made … and the dove came in to him in the evening; and, lo, in her mouth was an olive leaf pluckt off: so Noah knew that the waters were abated from off the earth,” (Genesis 8:6).

      Many times I have witnessed believers in the apostate church system [isn’t this what it is, and more and more, as time shortens?] deliver themselves by their own will and choices–and then, call it the will and blessing of God.

      Better to suffer for well-doing than for evil (1 Peter 3:17).

      Peace!

Leave a Reply

